In an Iron Time: Statements and Reiterations

In an Iron Time: Statements and Reiterations (Hardback)

Use code ‘Purdue Press’ at checkout to receive 10% off when placing your order through this website.
In an Iron Time: Statements and Reiterations
Purdue University Press
6.00" x 9.00"

Book Description

R.V. Cassill, best-selling author of numerous novels and short stories, here offers a collection of his own essays which he refers to as "a personal, critical appraisal of our time as it is reflected, primarily, in literature

About the Author(s):

A prolific writer, Cassill has authored over 20 novels, including Clem Anderson (1961), The President (1964), The Goss Women (1974), Hoyt's Child (1976), Labors of Love (1980), and After Goliath (1985). In addition, his story collections include The Father (1965) and The Happy Marriage (1967), and in 1989 the University of Arkansas Press published his 650-page Collected Stories. Cassill's own life demonstrates extraordinary achievement emerging from an ordinary life of writing and teaching. Born in 1919 in Cedar Falls, Iowa, he studied art, but after Army service in the South Pacific during World War II, he turned his attention toward writing and publishing fiction. He has taught writing and literature at the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop, Purdue, Columbia, Harvard, and most recently as professor emeritus of English at Brown. He currently resides in Providence, Rhode Island. Besides writing fiction, he has published a teaching text, Writing Fiction, and edited both the Norton Anthology of Short Fiction and the Norton Anthology of Contemporary Fiction. His honors include Fulbright, Rockefeller, and Guggenheim fellowships.